You are here

5 Sep 2023
Related Items: 
Community News

The Mayan Train is coming to Riviera Maya. Here's what to know about where, when, and where it will go. 

Where does the Mayan Train start and end?

The Mayan Train comprises 42 trains with a length of more than 1,400 kilometers. It will cross five states in the southeast of Mexico, from Chiapas, Tabasco, Campeche, and Yucatan to Quintana Roo—a transport system for goods, passengers, and tourists within the peninsula.

The standard four-car train can carry 230 passengers. Along the route of the Mayan Train, you will cross six hotels, airports, and a great variety of natural areas and archaeological zones.

Mayan Train Sections: What is the route and stations?

What does the Mayan Train cover? The Mayan Train route comprises 20 stations and 14 stops, divided into seven sections from Palenque in Chiapas to Bacalar in Quintana Roo. 

Mayan Train Costs

The official prices of the Mayan Train tickets and the collection dynamics, whether by section, route, or number of stations, will have yet to be announced.

The director of Fonatur told El Financiero that the ticket cost for tourists and residents will be different.

"We want a trip that costs what a worker from Cancun to Playa del Carmen spends, that works out the same, that would be a subsidy, for a tourist between 40 and 50 dollars, an approximate cost," said Rogelio Jiménez Pons.

So, according to Jiménez Pons, the price is equivalent to that of public transport in the area, that is, about 50 pesos per single trip for locals.

Section 1: Palenque-Escárcega (227 kilometers)
  • Palenque (terminal station).
  • Boca del Cerro (station).
  • Tenosique (stop).
  • El Triunfo (station).
  • Candlemas (stop).
  • Escárcega (terminal station).
Section 2: Escárcega-Calkini (253 kilometres)
  • Escárcega (terminal station).
  • Carrillo Port (stop).
  • Edzná (station).
  • San Francisco Campeche (station).
  • Tenabo (stop).
  • Hezelchakán (stop).
  • Calkiní (whereabouts).
Section 3: Calkiní-Izamal (160 kilometers)
  • Calkiní (stop).
  • Mexcanú (stop).
  • Merida Airport (station).
  • Teya (station).
  • Tixkokob (stop).
  • Izamal (terminal station of the section).
Section 4: Izamal-Tulum (186 kilometers)
  • Izamal (terminal station).
  • Chichen Itza (station).
  • Valladolid (station).
  • Coba (station).
  • Tulum (terminal station).
Section 5: Cancun-Tulum (120 kilometers)
  • Cancun Airport (terminal station).
  • Puerto Morelos (station).
  • Playa del Carmen (station).
  • Xcaret (whereabouts).
  • Puerto Aventuras (stop).
  • Akumal (stop).
  • Tulum (terminal station)
Section 6: Tulum-Bacalar (237 kilometers)
  • Tulum (terminal station).
  • Tulum Airport (station).
  • Felipe Carrillo Puerto (station).
  • Lemons (whereabouts).
  • Bacalar (terminal station).
Section 7: Bacalar-Escárcega (257 kilometres)
  • Bacalar (terminal station).
  • Chetumal (station).
  • Xpujil (station).
  • Conhuas (stop.
  • Centennial (stop).
  • Escárcega (terminal station).

    This route is currently unavailable for travel. The Train Maya is not operating now but is a story in motion. For tourists, the Tren Maya offers an enticing invitation to explore the Riviera Maya's treasures, bridging the gap between ancient civilizations and modern-day Mexican splendor. If you're planning on traveling to Riviera Maya, be sure you have all the information about how to get to your destination. Contact us for more information and details about ground transportation in Riviera Maya for your upcoming trip to Riviera Maya.